Javascript Menu by
Search the village website

Flackwell Heath
Village Millennium Celebrations

In 1998 Flackwell Heath Royal British Legion called together representatives from local clubs and organisations to discuss how the village could celebrate millennium year. At the end of the meeting a small number of those present agreed to meet up again to discuss how to proceed. From this initial group the millennium committee grew.
Every home in the village was sent a questionnaire asking how the villagers would like to see millennium year celebrated.

The outcome of the ballot helped to form the key objectives of the committee.

These were a record of villagers; a kind of doomsday book, now called the Millennium Book, a day of celebration (9th July), erect a village clock and write and publish a complete history of the village.

I am pleased to say all of these objectives were achieved for year 2000

The Clock mounted on the Community Centre

The motif designed by the children of the village
One of the hardest things the committee had to do before year 2000, was to engage the village and maintain an interest in what was being done. One way of achieving this was to have a logo that people could relate to. Local schoolchildren were asked to submit designs.

The circular motif incorporating well known village images was chosen from the many entries received. The logo was subsequently used on millennium correspondence, the millennium book entry pages and the children's t-shirts sold in millennium year.
The cherries motif was also developed from the original design and used on millennium documentation, the polo shirts and in the history book as a logo for Flackwell Heath Millennium Press.

The Millennium Committee comprised:

Stephen Turner, Chairman - Clock, Carnival and History Book
Margaret Waffron, Treasurer - Carnival and Fund Raising
Janet Ellis, Secretary - Village Survey and Carnival

Alec Barron - Clock, Carnival and Millennium Book
Dennis Barber - History Book
Chris Bull - Church service at the carnival
Grahame Corrick - Carnival and Programmes
Fred Gibson - Carnival and Transport
Gwen Grange - History Book and Carnival
Barbara Hunt - Carnival, History Book and Parish Council Liaison
Alison Peach - Carnival and Logo Competition
Nancie Ross - Carnival and Fund Raising
Dave Trotter - Merchandise, Promotions, Carnival and History Book
Pat Trotter - Merchandise, Carnival and History Book
Peter Tyrell - Tug Of War/Carnival

Special thanks to George Boffin, Ed Cusick and Flackwell Heath Scouts and Guides for their help with the Carnival and to Millennium Awards For All, Monkey Island Hotel - Bray, Heath Singers, K J Chadbone for scaffolding and Flackwell Heath Community Association for financial contributions towards millennium projects.

Unveiling of the plaque for the millennium clock

From left to right
Iain Dougan (Monkey Island Hotel)
Nancie Ross
Stephen Turner (Chairman)

© Web site designed & maintained by Right Click Designs
Javascript Menu by